Preview: MMA Battle Arena 52

The UK-based international amateur promotion, Battle Arena, returns for its 52nd show tomorrow, at Edgbaston Cricket Stadium, Birmingham. The card features athletes who are flying in from Norway, Ireland, France, Sweden, and the UK; with no less than eight titles being presented on the night.

Headlining the event is a real battle of styles as Albanian BJJ prodigy, Ndue Lleshi faces the talented striker, ‘Kid Dynamite’ George Caruana for the bantamweight strap.

The co-main will feature defending featherweight champion Geoff Ogendo and Matthieu James. Ogendo always comes out of the traps at 100mph. Where as historically, James has taken a round to get up to speed. Will the Kidderminster man be able to weather Ogendo’s opening storm and implement his more cerebral style? Or will Ogendo add another impressive  scalp to his growing resume?

Further down the card is Coventry’s rising star Corey Beldon, who is matched against the giant Norwegian Patryk Nacewicz. Beldon at the tender age of 22 already has European and World titles at Welterweight. As the current Lightweight World Champion, he’s aiming to take Navewicz’s European Lightweight strap and unify another weight class.

Other standout bouts include Hayley Valentine vs Bezan Mahmudi who’s travelled over from All Stars in Stockholm to face the hyper aggressive BST brawler, and Elite Training Centre’s Tom Gibbs who defends his 125lb strap against Hadi Chocair. Also keep your eyes on Dave Jones who’s been putting in some recent 1-2-1 work with former Battle Arena and BAMMA standout David ‘The Demolition Man’ Khalsa in preparation for his bout with Antonio Louca.

The VIP section for this event has been sold out, but some standing tickets are available at the venue. If you want to see the future stars of tomorrow, get yourself down to Edgbaston Stadium for a packed event, you won’t be disappointed. Doors open at 2:00pm, with the first bout scheduled for 2:30pm.


Live results:

1. Joachim Sharpe-Bergensen def George Dutton – split decision

2. Kirton Faul def Josh Keys – R1 guillotine choke 19 secs

3. Stanmir Madrov def Sebastian Berger – unanimous decision

4. Eoin O’Connell def Adil Cherfi- Referee stoppage, end of R1

5. Danny Richards def Paul McManus – unanimous decision

6. Jasmine Harmitt def Erica Vorobjova – unanimous decision

7. Bakyaar Oryakhil def Alex Evans – unanimous decision

8. Daniel To def Mark Kelly – R2 TKO

9. Nikolas Lukas def Kyle Parker – unanimous decision

10. Antonio Louca def Dave Jones – split decision to win the Battle Arena Regional Featherweight Title

11. William Haycox def Jake Hinchliffe – von flue choke R1 0.34sec to win the Battle Arena British Welterweight Title

12. Ryan Sahota def Harrison Pettitt – TKO R1 1:10

13. Ivana Siric def Melissa Mullins – unanimous decision

14. Callum Parker def Giorgio Fusco – arm bar R1 1:32

15. Jimmy Thompson def Lee Anthony – unanimous decision

16. Aaron Cambourne def Max Mordine – unanimous decision

17. Krystoff Wisniewski def Jason Melvin – R1 TKO 1:42 to win the Battle Arena World Heavyweight Title

18. Hadi Chocair def Tom Gibbs – unanimous decision to win the Battle Arena World Flyweight Title

19. Corey Beldon def Patryk Nacewicz- TKO R4 1:34 to unify the European and World Battle Arena Lightweight Titles.

20. Able Matumba def Javid Bensaleh – KO R1 0:54

21: Bezan Mahmudi def Hayley Valentine – arm bar R2 1:24

22. Joe Harbourne def Dawid Gudalewski – TKO R1 0.25

23. Kieran Starkie def Denzel Chibondo – unanimous decision

24. Jamie Hales def Kaspers Berzins – TKO R1

25. Magnus Thorgers Jacobsen def Daniel Pederson – unanimous decision to win the Norwegian National Battle Arena Welterweight Champion

26. Matt James def Geoff Ogendo – unanimous decision to win the Battle Arena Featherweight World Title

27. Ndue Lleshi def George Caruana – R3 TKO to win the Battle Arena Bantamweight World Title

Join Our WhatsApp Group

Join our UFC WhatsApp fan group and discuss the latest UFC events and news

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel